DAF Entomology contacts

Dr Melina Miles
Principal Entomologist & Team Leader (Grains Lead)
Toowoomba
melina.miles@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4529 4169

Dr Paul Grundy
Senior Research Scientist, Crop Protection and Farming Systems (Cotton Lead)
Toowoomba
paul.grundy@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4529 4133

Hugh Brier
Senior Entomologist (Summer pulses)
Kingaroy
hugh.brier@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4182 1840

Dr Jamie Hopkinson
Entomologist (Silverleaf whitefly)
Toowoomba
jamie.hopkinson@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4529 4152

Dr Liz Williams
Entomologist
Kingaroy
liz.williams@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4182 1818

Adam Quade
Technical Officer
Toowoomba
adam.quade@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4529 4248

Kristy Byers
Technical Officer
Toowoomba

Gail Spargo
Technical Officer
Emerald

Trevor Volp
Technical Officer
Toowoomba

Tonia Grundy
Extension officer (multimedia)
Toowoomba
tonia.grundy@daf.qld.gov.au
Ph: 4529 4108

The DAF field crops entomology team has won several awards, including:

  • GRDC Seed of Light (2004): David Murray (former team leader) and Melina Miles
  • GRDC Seed of Light (2014): Hugh Brier
  • Summer Grains Industry award (2016): Hugh Brier
  • Cotton Researcher of the year (2017): Paul Grundy (with Stephen Yeates)